LAFD Golf – 2018 Senior’s Championship

July 31, 2018

On June 13, 2018, 80 of our senior golfers met at Montebello CC to compete for the top honors of the LAFD GOLF CLUB Senior’s Championship. The course was in great shape and the weather was perfect. This year’s competition wasn’t decided until we had completed a play off between last year’s champion Gary Gatena and challenger Kelly Faulkner. In the playoff, both players parred the par 4, 18th hole, with Kelly scrambling from 40′ away and sinking a 10′ putt to tie Gary who left his birdie putt short. The next playoff hole was the par 5, 17th. Gary was down the middle but Kelly pushed his drive to the right. Kelly played his shot down the 16th fairway because he was blocked by trees and made a miraculous through the trees shot from 135 yards on to the green leaving a 20′ downhill putt. Gary had a bad lie and managed to lay up to 100 yards and put his approach shot 8′ from the hole. Kelly left his putt 8″ to the left, leaving the door open for Gary, who holed his putt for a birdie and the win. Congratulations to both players who posted 72 to make the playoff. This is Gary’s 3rd Senior’s win in a row. Congratulations Gary!

Dale Gant posted a 74, Andy Zar 75, Todd Tsujimura 77, Joe Castro 78, Jeff Simon 79 and 77 Years young Gary Klasse 74 (shot under his age). On the Net side, Steve Stigall shot a net 60!! Congratulations on a great round Steve. Both winners will represent the LAFD Golf Club in the Tournament of Champions competition in December. Good luck guys!

I’m always in awe of our octogenarians who make the tournament. This year we had Tom Harrison at 87 and Mac McOsker at 80. Glad to see you guys and hope to see you next year.

We have been fortunate to have some great sponsors for our tourney:
• Gold Lee and Adam Turner of the Lewis, Marenstein, Wicke, Sherwin and Lee group. Loved the Apple watches. See Gold and Adam for your Work Comp issues.
• Wood Ranch GC and Woodland Hills CC.

Thanks to the LAFDGC board for their behind the scenes help. Great job guys.

The tournament winners are as follows:

“A” Flight Ages 51 to 59

1st Gross Gary Gatena 72 • 1st Net Kelly Faulkner 65
2nd Pat McOsker 75 • 2nd Michael Tombrello 65
3rd Todd Tsujimura 77 • 3rd Luther Sherman 72
4th Joe Castro 78 • 4th Allan Black 73

“B” Flight Ages 59 to 63

1st Gross Jeff Simon 79 • 1st Net Rick Sesma 65
2nd Andy Zar 81 • 2nd Gary Cline 69
3rd Paul Gamez 83 • 3rd Dennis Harada 69
4th Robert Franz 83 • 4th Mike Monroy 70

“C” Flight Ages 64 to 69

1st Gross Dale Gant 74 • 1st Net Sergio Perez 70*
2nd Steve Schulz 80 • 2nd Jim Horimoto 70*
3rd Chet Page 81 • 3rd Dave Baiz 72*
4th Noel Murchet 82 • 4th Pete Benesch 72*

“D” Flight Ages 69 to 87

1st Gross Gary Klasse 74 • 1st Net Steve Stigall 60
2nd Steve Sutliff 82 • 2nd Robert Clements 66
3rd Randy Judd 84 • 3rd Bill Stires 69
4th John Hendricks 84 • 4th Tom Harrison 69

Congratulations to all of our winners. We’ll see you next year.

Dale Gant
Tournament Chairman

Comments are closed.

Back to Top