The Relief established the Scholarship Awards Program in 1996 for all eligible dependents of active and retired Relief Association members. We’re proud to grant financial assistance to students who exemplify academic and personal achievements. Each year, the Relief awards college scholarships to the children of deserving members. These include:

  • The Leo K. Najarian Memorial Scholarship of $5,000
  • The Bill Goss Scholarship of $2,500
Three Relief Scholarship awards of $2,500
  • Memorial Scholarship of $5,000

Deadline for submission is March 28, 2014.

Application evaluation and testing scheduled for April 12, 2014. For more information, email

History of the Relief Association Scholarship Program

Leo NajarianThe Leo K. Najarian Memorial Scholarship, is named after a well-respected and distinguished firefighter who provided nearly 38 years of service to the LAFD and was instrumental in establishing the Relief’s Scholarship Program. He was a nationally recognized pioneer in the field of Hazmatology and was the first elected retired Trustee to serve on the Los Angeles Firemen’s Relief Association Board for 18 years until his death.


The Memorial Scholarship Award is awarded to a dependent of a Relief Association member who passed away while serving as an active Los Angeles City Fire Department member.

Bill GossThe Bill Goss Scholarship Award, enacted in 2008, is in honor of the dedication and uncompromised commitment he gave as Deputy Chief to the fire service family. Goss first served as a Relief Association Trustee, and later President, from 1945-1951. He returned to the Board in 1999, and served until his death in 2009. During his prestigious career with the LAFD, he held the ranks of Fireman, Auto Fireman, Captain, Battalion Chief and was the youngest Deputy Chief.

Other Scholarship Opportunities:

In addition to the Relief Association Scholarships, other organizations also offer separate opportunities. For information on the LAFD Merit Scholarship, please contact June Andrade at the LAFD Scholarship Fund by phone at (213) 840-0469 or e-mail

For information on the Los Angeles Firemen’s Credit Union scholarship, visit the LAFCU Youth Center page.

2013 Winners

  • Kaycee Ching – Leo Najarian Award
  • Adam Guerro – Bill Goss Award
  • Andrew Apodaca – Relief Scholarship
  • Marissa Casanova – Relief Scholarship
  • Michael Togneri – Relief Scholarship
  • Aaron Vilaubi – Relief Scholarship
  • Kenna Arana – Memorial Scholarship
  • Allison Piccione – Memorial Scholarship
  • Jessica Urquiza – Memorial Scholarship

Back to Top